System Settings

To configure the system settings, follow the steps below:

  1. Click Settings in the main menu on the left.

  2. Go to the General tab and click System settings.

  3. Set the following options:

    • In the Configuration tab:

      • Store system events for the last x days: Events older than the specified number of days (can be from 5 to 365) will be deleted.

      • Store job history for the last x days: The history of the jobs older than the specified number of days (can be from 5 to 90) will be deleted.

         

        Note

        This option is not displayed for Master tenant in Multi-tenancy mode.

         

      • Auto log out after x minutes of inactivity: When this option is selected, the current user will be automatically logged out of NAKIVO Backup & Replication after the specified period of inactivity.

      • Auto retry failed jobs x times with y minutes interval: When this option is selected, failed jobs will be automatically retried the specified number of times (from 2 to 10) and with the specified time interval (from 1 to 60). Jobs with failed backup, replication, and recovery remain in the “running” state until all retries have either succeeded or failed.

        • Retry critical errors: When this option is selected, NAKIVO Backup & Replication tries to automatically rerun jobs with critical and non-critical errors a specified number of times.

           

          Notes

        • The term critical error refers to the persistent errors which are unlikely to change without any additional intervention, i.e. hardware failure.

        • The term non-critical error refers to the non-persistent errors which are likely to change without any additional intervention, i.e. unstable network connection.

         

      • Auto upload support bundles to support team server: When this option is selected, NAKIVO Backup & Replication automatically creates, encrypts, and uploads support bundles once a day to a NAKIVO support server. The NAKIVO Support team may use this information to improve the product experience and to identify and resolve product issues faster.

      • Display special offers: When this option is enabled, the NAKIVO special offers toolbar appears in the NAKIVO Backup & Replication interface.

      • Continue product update if self-backup fails: When this option is selected, updates proceed even if self-backup cannot be performed.

      • Enable built-in support chat: When this option is selected, you can contact a NAKIVO representative via chat in the NAKIVO Backup & Replication interface. When selected in the multi-tenant mode, the built-in support chat is available to all tenants of the NAKIVO Backup & Replication instance.

      • Enable Aptare Integration: Select this option to integrate APTARE storage resource management platform with NAKIVO Backup & Replication. For integration details, refer to Aptare IT Analytics Integration.

      • You can click  Restart Director service to stop all current activities and restart the Director. After clicking the link, a confirmation window appears. Click Reboot to confirm the restart.

      • Import System Configuration: Find more information on the topic here.

      • Export System Configuration: Find more information on the topic here.

    • In the Tape tab:

      • Auto erase expired tapes: When this option is selected, expired tapes are erased automatically. 

        Important

        If this option is selected, the following prerequisites must be met for a cartridge to be erased:

        • All recovery points within the tape cartridge are expired.

        • There are no dependent recovery points on other tape cartridges.

        • The product keeps at least one full chain of recovery points.

      • Auto refresh tapes every: Select how often the contents of the tapes are refreshed in minutes or hours. Deselect if refreshing is not required.

      • Wait for next tape for: Specify how long the system should wait for the next tape if there is no appropriate amount. Select the Send email notification checkbox to receive email notifications.

    • In the Monitoring tab:

      • Auto remove inaccessible items from list of monitored items: When this option is selected, all inaccessible items are removed automatically from the list of monitored items.

    • In the Processing tab:

      • Auto remove deleted or invalid source items from jobs: This option applies to a protected container (such as a VMware cluster or EC2 region). When this option is selected, if NAKIVO Backup & Replication discovers (during the inventory refresh) that a VM(s) and/or EC2 instance(s) is no longer available in the protected container, NAKIVO Backup & Replication automatically removes these VMs and EC2 instances from all jobs.

      • Process every source item only by one job at a time: When this option is selected, all machines in backup and replication jobs are processed by one job at a time only. Running jobs and respective source objects will not be affected after changing this setting. For physical servers, this option is always enabled.

      • Check for sufficient RAM on the target host for replication/recovery jobs: When this option is deselected, NAKIVO Backup & Replication does not check whether the amount of RAM on the target host is sufficient for replication and recovery jobs.

      • LVM snapshot allocation size: This option allows you to set an LVM allocation snapshot size for a Linux physical server backup. The default size is 1 GB. The maximum size is 1000 GB. 

    • In the Auto Refresh tab: 

      • Auto refresh inventory every X minutes: Specify how often you want your inventories to be refreshed. 

      • Auto refresh transporters every X minutes: Specify how often you want your Transporters to be refreshed. 

      • Auto refresh repositories every X minutes: Specify how often you want your inventories to be refreshed. 

    • In the Regional Format tab, set:

      • Clock format

      • First day of week

      • Decimal symbol

      • Short date format

      • Full date format

      • Default time zone

       

      Note

      If any time zone other than (UTC+00:00, UTC) Coordinated Universal Time is chosen, daylight savings times are honored.

       

    • In the SSL/TLS tab, you can either:

      • Install new certificate: A dialog opens allowing you to install a new TLS/SSL certificate for the NAKIVO Backup & Replication web interface. Certificates are generated either internally or through certification authorities. Proceed as follows to install a new certificate:

        • Click Browse and navigate to the location of either of the following certificate file types:

          • Private key: A file in the *.key format.

          • Private key password (optional): A password for your private key.

          • Certificate file: A file in the *.pem, *.crt, *.cer, *.p7b, or *.p7s format.

          • Intermediate certificate (optional): A file in one of the following formats: *.pem, *.crt, *.cer, *.p7b, *.p7s.

      • Accept all transporter certificates by default: Select this option to automatically accept all transporter certificates. After selecting the option, click Continue in the warning popup window that appears to confirm the selection.

      • Enforce usage of pre-shared keys for all transporters: Selecting this option makes sure that transport function only when pre-shared key is installed.

      • Trust expired self-signed transporter certificates: Selecting this option makes the solution trust the expired self-signed transporter certificates.

    4. After making the necessary changes, click Apply. Alternatively, click Discard Changes to discard any changes you have made.

Notes

  • NAKIVO Backup & Replication supports Certificates with the RSA algorithm only.  

  • In the Web Interface TLS/SSL Certificate section, you can see a notification about imminent TLS/SSL Certificate expiration in 30 days and onwards. If your certificate has expired, you will be asked to install a valid certificate.