Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

In NAKIVO Backup & Replication, you can permanently delete a VM backup (including all of its recovery points) if it is available in a Backup Repository. Also, you can delete specific recovery points of a backup without affecting other ones.

You can only delete a VM backup if you have deleted the corresponding backup job or edited the backup job so it does not include the backup’s source VM.

Refer to one of the following topics:

Deleting a Single Backup

To permanently delete a VM backup, follow the steps below:

  1. Click Configuration in the upper right corner of the product.
  2. Go to the Repositories tab and click a Backup Repository.
  3. Click the backup you want to delete.
  4. In the backup title, click Delete:

  5. Click Delete Backup in the message that appears.

The space occupied by the backup will be marked as “free” and reused by new data blocks on the next job runs, though the actual size of the Backup Repository may not change. To free up the space occupied by the backup, you can reclaim free space.

Deleting Backups in Bulk

To permanently delete a number of backups that match particular criteria, follow the steps below:

  1. Click Configuration in the upper right corner of the product.
  2. Go to the Repositories tab and click a Backup Repository.
  3. Click Manage and then click Delete backups in bulk:

  4. Select one of the available options and click Delete.

The space occupied by the backup will be marked as “free” and reused by new data blocks on the next job runs, though the actual size of the Backup Repository may not change. To free up the space occupied by the backup, you can reclaim free space.

Deleting Recovery Points

You can delete either a single recovery point, or all corrupted recovery points, or all recovery points older than specified number of days.

Deleting a Single Recovery Point

You cannot delete the last recovery point. For this reason, if a backup has only one recovery point it cannot be deleted

A recovery point cannot be deleted while the source VM backup job is running.

  1. Click Configuration in the upper right corner of the product.
  2. Go to the Repositories tab 
  3. Click a Backup Repository
  4. Click the backup where you want to delete a recovery point
  5. Hover the mouse pointer over the recovery point you want to delete 

  6. Click Delete

  7. Click Delete Recovery Point in the message that appears.

The space occupied by the recovery point will be marked as “free” and reused by new data blocks on the next job runs, though the actual size of the Backup Repository may not change. To free up the space occupied by the recovery point, you can reclaim free space.

Bulk Recovery Points Deletion

 

  1. Click Configuration in the upper right corner of the product.
  2. Go to the Repositories tab 
  3. Click a Backup Repository
  4. Click Manage
  5. Click Delete backups in bulk

  6. Select criteria for recovery points to delete.
     
    Select criteria for recovery points to delete
  7.  Confirm deletion in the window that appears.

  • No labels