Removing and Deleting Backup Repositories

In NAKIVO Backup & Replication, you can either permanently delete a Backup Repository and all of its data or remove only the Backup Repository from the product while maintaining all of its data. After removing a Backup Repository you will be able to import it into the same or a new instance of the product.

Important
You will not be able to remove a Backup Repository if there is a job that backs up to this Backup Repository. To remove such a Backup Repository, you first need to delete (or edit) the corresponding jobs so no items are backed up to the Backup Repository that is being removed.

To permanently delete or remove a Backup Repository from the product, follow the steps below:

  1. Go to the main menu of NAKIVO Backup & Replication and click Settings.

  2. Go to the Repositories tab.

  3. Click a Backup Repository.

  4. In the Backup Repository title, click Manage and then click Remove.


  5. Do the following when the confirmation message appears:

    • To remove the Backup Repository from NAKIVO Backup & Replication and keep the Backup Repository on a disk, click the Remove Repository and Keep Backups button.
      Note
      You can import the removed Backup Repository back to the same or to new product installation.

    • To permanently delete the Backup Repository and all its data, click the Remove Repository and Delete Backups button.
      Important
      This operation will permanently delete the Backup Repository and all VM backups.